Press Release: Brian N. Rubin Elected President of Special Needs Alliance

Special Needs Alliance

October 31, 2017 (Tucson, Arizona) — Brian N. Rubin, Rubin Law, A Professional Corporation, with offices in Chicago, Skokie, and Buffalo Grove, Illinois, whose law practice focuses exclusively on “special needs legal and future planning,” has been elected president of the Special Needs Alliance (SNA). SNA is a national organization comprised of attorneys committed to helping individuals with special needs, their families and the professionals who serve them.

“The legal profession in general, and special needs law in particular, are undergoing enormous change,” says Rubin. “Regulations are constantly changing, state laws often differ, and technology poses new challenges. My goal is to continue and deepen SNA’s commitment to providing education, collegial sharing and marketing tools that support our members’ service to the special needs community.

“Our members frequently cite the camaraderie that’s apparent at our meetings. It’s important to them to develop solid, trusting relationships with peers across the country so they can confidently refer clients who are relocating. In recent years, SNA has seen significant growth in membership, and I want to ensure that we continue to strengthen those ties.”

A practicing attorney since 1976, Rubin served as chairman of the State of Illinois Autism Task Force from its establishment in 2005 through 2015, and is a member of the State of Illinois Guardianship & Advocacy Commission. Since 1989, he has served on the board of directors for Clearbrook, a nonprofit serving over 8,000 individuals with intellectual and/or developmental disabilities, including his own son, Mitchell, now 36, who has autism.

He is the immediate past president of The Arc of Illinois, a past chairman of the State of Illinois Statewide Advisory Council on Developmental Disabilities and has served on many other state committees and commissions.

Rubin has been elected a Fellow of the American College of Trust and Estate Counsel (ACTEC).

He received a J.D. from Chicago-Kent College of Law, Illinois Institute of Technology, and a B.S. in accounting from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Also named to the SNA board of directors: Robert Fechtman, CELA, Indianapolis, Indiana, as president-elect; Jennifer L. Lile, CELA, Canton, Ohio, as vice president; Jefferey M. Yussman, Esq., Louisville, Kentucky, as treasurer; and Mary Alice Jackson, Esq., Austin, Texas, as secretary.

Newly elected as directors are Evan Krame, Esq., Rockville, Maryland; Morris Klein, CELA, Bethesda, Maryland; Mary O’Byrne, Esq., Lutherville, Maryland; and Scott Suzuki, Esq., Honolulu, Hawaii.

Continuing as directors are Robert Brogan, CELA, Point Pleasant, New Jersey; Ann N. Butenhof, CELA, Manchester, New Hampshire; Robert B. Fleming, CELA, Tucson, Arizona; Julian E. Gray, CELA, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Laurie Hanson, Esq., Minneapolis, Minnesota; and Kelly A. Thompson, Esq., Arlington, Virginia.

SNA membership is based on a combination of relevant legal experience in the disability and elder law fields, direct family experience with disability, active participation with national, state, and local disability advocacy organizations, and professional reputation.